Honoured to be supported by HWPA at Awards ceremony

Racing to School was privileged to be the chosen charity of the 51st annual Horserace Writers and Photographers Association awards lunch on December 4th at the Royal Lancaster Hotel, London. As always, it was a jovial occasion, celebrating a range of achievements across the sport over the past 12 months, and crowning the Writer of the Year.

The charity is so grateful to the HWPA committee and the generous sponsors of the event, Qatar Racing & Equestrian Club. Racing to School would also like to congratulate all of the nominees and winners from the day including, Megan Ridgewell for Picture of the Year and Chris McGrath who won the Clive Graham Trophy for Racing Writer of the Year.

The Grand National-owning partnership that makes up the Two Golf Widows, Deborah Thompson and Belinda McClung kindly presented the Picture of the Year award to Megan Ridgewell on behalf of the charity. Deborah spoke to presenter Nick Luck and highlighted the importance of the education programmes to engage racing’s next generation of fans, and the value of the activities to the school curriculum. HWPA President Marcus Townsend acknowledged Racing to School’s unique work and the good fit with the Awards.

Watch a short video here of Deborah Thompson representing the charity at the awards ceremony:

Click here